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General Information

The Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners

The Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners was created by the Legislature in 1973 to issue tax preparer and tax consultant
licenses, conduct examinations of candidates for licensure, and ensure that practitioners receive annual continuing
education. Through these activities and compliance enforcement, the Board fulfills the consumer protection role for
which it was created: helping prevent fraud against Oregon taxpayers and ensuring that tax practitioners understand
state and federal income tax law and conduct their business competently and ethically.

About 4,000 tax preparers and tax consultants are licensed by the Oregon State Board of Tax Practitioners, which is
funded entirely by fees collected from examinations, licenses, and civil penalties assessed by the Board for violations
of rule or statute. The Legislature approves an expenditure limitation for the Board each biennium.

Types of Licenses

A tax preparer license from the Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners enables you to lawfully prepare personal income
tax returns in Oregon for a fee or valuable consideration. A tax preparer must work under the supervision of a licensed
tax consultant, a certified public accountant, a public accountant, or an attorney-at-law. All tax preparer licenses
expire annually on September 30 following initial application for license or renewal. It is the responsibility of the
licensee to meet the requirements and apply for license renewal.

A tax consultant license enables you to lawfully prepare personal income tax returns in Oregon for a fee or valuable
consideration as a self-employed or independent tax practitioner. All tax-consultant licenses expire annually on May
31 following initial application for license. It is the responsibility of the licensee to meet the requirements and apply
for license renewal.

Certain individuals are not required to be licensed by the Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners to prepare income taxes
for a fee. These include attorneys-at-law, fiduciaries, certified public accountants and public accountants who hold a
permit from the Oregon Board of Accountancy, and employees of these four entities.

Enrolled agents authorized to practice before the Internal Revenue Service may be licensed by the Oregon Board of
Tax Practitioners by presenting a copy of their enrollment card with their application and passing an examination
covering Oregon income tax statutes and rules.



Examinations

How to Become Licensed in Oregon

To be a licensed tax preparer or tax consultant in Oregon, you must pass an examination administered by the Board
staff or a proctor authorized by the Board to administer exams.

Passing the tax preparer examination requires careful and comprehensive preparation, including successful completion
of an 80-hour basic tax course or its equivalent. The tax consultant examination is based on experience and
knowledge gained as a working tax consultant and through continuing-education courses, individual study and
research.

Future applicants for licensure as a tax consultant should ensure that employers document hours worked on the
“Verification of Work Experience,” form required by the Board. Only work hours directly related to tax preparation
may be counted toward the work-experience requirement.

To become licensed as a tax preparer:

You must be at least 18 years old and possess a high school or general equivalency diploma (GED).

You must complete an 80-hour basic tax course or its equivalent, although you may apply to take the
examination before your 80-hour basic tax course is completed. Tax preparer applicants must retake the basic
tax course, if after three (3) years from basic course completion date; the applicant has not yet passed the
preparer exam. Approved courses are listed in this booklet and on our Web site, www.oregon.gov/OBTP.

You may submit transcripts and course summaries of college courses with your application in lieu of the 80-
hour basic tax course; however, the acceptance of alternative tax-related courses will be at the discretion of the
Board, per OAR 800-020-0015(3).

You must pass the tax preparer examination administered by the Board with a score of 75 percent or higher.

When you successfully complete the 80-hour basic tax course, you will receive a “Session Attendance
Certification Form” signed by your course instructor. Sign and submit it to the Board office only when you
apply for your license; do not submit it with your examination application.

To become licensed as a tax consultant if you are licensed as a tax preparer:

Submit evidence on the Verification of Work Experience Form, signed by your employer(s) that you have
worked as a licensed tax preparer not less than 780 (total of 1100 effective 7-1-2012) hours during at least two
of the last five years.

0 You may substitute volunteer experience in lieu of up to 150 (total of 212 effective 7-1-2012) hours of
the 780 (total of 1100 effective 7-1-2012) hours of required experience at a ratio of one hour for each
five hours worked as a volunteer only if you volunteered with tax preparation programs such as VITA
or AARP-TCE. Hours must be verified by your volunteer supervisor.
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0 You may substitute education credits in lieu of up to 260 (total of 365 effective 7-1-2012) hours of the
780 (total of 1100 effective 7-1-2012) hours of required experience at a rate of one classroom hour for
each five hours of experience, provided the subject matter was related to taxation, you completed the
course within a year before applying to become a licensed tax consultant, and you do not claim the
same course credits to fulfill continuing education requirements. Education credits require transcripts
and course summaries as evidence.

Submit evidence of completion of a minimum of 15 hours of continuing education in personal income taxation
in the past year.

Pass the tax consultant examination administered by the Board with a score of 75 percent or higher.

To become licensed as a tax consultant if you are not licensed as a tax preparer:

Submit evidence that you have completed at least 80 hours of basic tax education. Prior experience credit may
be granted for up to 53 hours, but you must have completed 27 additional verifiable classroom hours, you must
have been actively engaged in tax preparation within two years of application, you must have at least three
years of tax preparation experience, and you must provide verification from employers or evidence of self-
employment.

Submit evidence on the Verification of Work Experience Form, signed by your employer(s) of a minimum of
780 (total of 1100 effective 7-1-2012) hours of work experience as a tax practitioner within at least two of the
last five years.

0 You may use hours of employment as an income tax auditor or taxpayer service representative with the
IRS or Oregon Department of Revenue toward fulfillment of the 780 (total of 1100 effective 7-1-2012)
hours of work experience.

0 You may substitute volunteer experience in lieu of up to 150 (total of 212 effective 7-1-2012) hours of
the 780 (total of 1100 effective 7-1-2012) hours of required experience at a ratio of one hour for each
five hours worked as a volunteer only if you volunteered with tax preparation programs such as VITA
or AARP-TCE. Hours must be verified by your volunteer supervisor.

0 You may substitute education credits in lieu of up to 260 (total of 365 effective 7-1-2012) hours of the
780 (total of 1100 effective 7-1-2012) hours of required experience at a rate of one classroom hour for
each five hours of experience, provided the subject matter was related to taxation, you completed the
course within a year before applying to become a licensed tax consultant, and you do not claim the
same course credits to fulfill continuing education requirements.

e Submit evidence of completion of a minimum of 15 hours of continuing education in personal income
taxation in the past year.

e Pass the tax consultant examination administered by the Board with a score of 75 percent or higher.
With out-of-state experience as a self-employed tax consultant:

e Submit evidence that you have completed at least 80 hours of basic tax education. Prior experience
credit may be granted for up to 53 classroom hours, but you must have completed 27 additional
verifiable classroom hours.

e Submit proof of tax-preparation experience on a “Self-Employment Petition” Form (see OTPB
Web site.) along with supporting documentation, e.g., a Schedule C, business bank account,
business registration or Form 1099. The form shall fully document pertinent experience and
education that meets or exceeds the requirement for 780 hours of work experience within at least
two of the last five years.

0 You may substitute volunteer experience in lieu of up to 150 (total of 212 effective 7-1-2012)
hours of the 780 (total of 1100 effective 7-1-2012) hours of required experience at a ratio of



one hour for each five hours worked as a volunteer only if you volunteered with tax preparation
programs such as VITA or AARP-TCE. Hours must be verified by your volunteer supervisor.

0 You may substitute education credits in lieu of up to 260 (total of 365 effective 7-1-2012)
hours of the 780 (total of 1100 effective 7-1-2012) hours of required experience at a ratio of
one classroom hour for each five hours of experience, provided the subject matter was related
to taxation, you completed the course within a year before applying to become a licensed tax
consultant, and you do not claim the same course credits to fulfill continuing education
requirements.

e Provide evidence of 15 hours of continuing education in personal income taxation completed
within one year prior to making application for examination.

To become a licensed tax consultant if you are an enrolled agent:

e Submit a copy of your valid enrolled agent card (front and back). No other document will be accepted as a
substitute for your enrollment card.

e Passthe Oregon Tax Law, Oregon Income Tax Service Law and the Code of Professional Conduct portions of the
tax consultant examination administered by the Board with a score of 75 percent or higher.

Exam Application Process

Mail your exam application and fees to the Board office at least 30 days before the date on which you plan to take the
exam. Applications are processed as quickly as possible. Exam applications received from February through
September are likely to be processed more quickly, particularly if you pay by credit card and fax your application.

To better serve license applicants, the Board has agreements with proctor sites throughout the state to supervise
examinations. If you choose to take your exam at a proctor site, include proctor fees with your exam application. You
will find a list of proctor sites and fees in this publication.

You can make arrangements to take an exam at the Board office in Salem without a proctor fee, based on Board
staffing and room availability. Contact the Board office for dates. Once a year, the Board administers a group
examination (the annual Board-Administered Examination) at a site other than the Board office, and there is no
proctor fee.

After the Board staff processes exam applications, it mails examination-approval notices, which tell applicants how to
schedule their examination at the proctor site they have chosen. When the examination-approval notices are mailed to
applicants, examination packets are sent to proctor sites. Do not schedule your appointment with the proctor site until
you receive your approval notice; the proctor site will not have an examination for you to take. You will be required
to show your examination-approval notice and government issued photographic identification before being allowed to
take the exam.

Please note: Your examination site selection is final upon making application to the Board office. For security
reasons, you may apply for only one examination; you may re-apply if you do not receive a passing score. If a problem
arises regarding your ability to sit for your scheduled examination, contact the Board immediately.



Fees

Exams ~ Initial
Licensing

Preparers

Consultants

Other

Exam Fees

$50

$85

Proctor fee, as applicable

Initial license

$50

$95

If you are a licensed tax
preparer (practitioner
license only)

$65

Combination license,

including business (if

already licensed as a
preparer)

$125

Combination license,
including business (if
not already licensed as a
preparer)

$155

Annual License
Renewal

Preparers

Consultants

Other

Active

$80

$95

Inactive

$35

$50

Reactivation of inactive
license

$80

$95

Reactivation of lapsed
license

$35 plus $80
(active fee)

$35 plus $95
(active fee)

Tax business,
registration only

$110

Branch office
registration

$20

Tax business reg./tax
consultant/preparer
license combination

$155




Refunds

Unless you fail to meet the legal requirements to take the examination or have an emergency beyond your control
(documented to the Board’s satisfaction), no refund of the exam fee will be made. In the case of eligible refund, a $10
processing fee will be retained by the Board. Written requests for emergency refunds are required and must include your
name, mailing address, phone number, reason for the request, and your acknowledgment that a $10 processing fee will be
retained by the Board.

Candidates who do not take the exam (“no-shows”) or who take exams but do not pass will not receive refunds of
exam fees.

Exam Content and Procedure

The Board updates and administers licensing examinations throughout the year. Examination consultants retained by
the Board regularly review exam questions and develop new ones. Consultant comments and new exam questions are
reviewed by the Board. All questions used on the examinations receive at least five reviews for clarity and legal
accuracy prior to their use in annual examinations.

Updated consultant examinations are released each August 1; updated preparer examinations are released each
September 1. Examinations cover Oregon and federal tax laws and the preparation of personal income-tax returns.

Subject matter:

If the date on your exam application is June 2011, the exam will cover 2009 tax law.

If the date on your consultant exam application is July 2011, the exam will cover 2009 tax law.

If the date on your consultant exam application is August 2011, the exam will cover 2010 tax law.
If the date on your preparer exam application is August 2011, the exam will cover 2009 tax law.

If the date on your preparer exam application is September 2011, the exam will cover 2010 tax law.

Exams cover personal income tax, law, theory and practice. The consultant exam may include questions on
corporation or partnership income tax as it relates to personal income-tax returns. Preparer and consultant exam
questions contain true-and-false, multiple-choice questions and scenario-based mini-problems. In both preparer and
consultant exams, approximately 75 percent of the questions will be on federal law and 25 percent on state law.

Preparer exams consist of 200 questions divided into four parts. Parts I, 1I, and Il include 176 questions covering
Oregon tax laws; code of professional conduct; and federal income tax law, theory and practice. These questions cover
basic material. Part IV (24 questions) is a series of scenario-based mini-problems related to state and federal forms
and schedules. All schedules, worksheets, and forms needed for solving the mini-problems will be provided.



Consultant exams consist of 200 questions. Applicants will be tested on Oregon and federal personal income tax law,
theory, and practice; the Oregon tax practitioners’ law; the code of professional conduct (Oregon Administrative
Rules, Chapter 800, Division 10); and rules for tax preparation businesses (Oregon Administrative Rules Chapter 800,
Division 25). Questions are more complicated than those in the preparer examination.

Enrolled agent exams (which cover only Oregon law) consist of 50 questions, testing the applicant on Oregon
income tax laws; the code of professional conduct (Oregon Administrative Rules, Chapter 800, Division 10); and
rules for tax preparation businesses (Oregon Administrative Rules Chapter 800, Division 25). Tax law questions may
cover any Oregon topics listed on the examination indexes.

Applicants are allowed five hours to complete the preparer and consultant examinations. Enrolled agents taking only
the state-law portion of the consultant exam are allowed 1%2 hours to complete the examination. Exam schedules vary,
depending on the location; see proctor site information in this booklet for specifics.

Please note: For security reasons, you may apply for only one examination; you may re-apply if you do not receive a
passing score.

Options for Scheduling Your Examination

Proctor site examinations

Proctored examinations are available throughout Oregon. You must make an appointment to take an examination at a
proctored site after you have received your examination-approval notice from the Board.

Mail complete exam applications and fees to the Board office at least 30 days before the date on which you plan to
take the examination.

After you receive an examination-approval notice, contact your chosen proctor site to schedule your exam. Do not
schedule an examination until you receive your examination-approval notice; the proctor will not have an examination
for you to take. If your exam will be at a proctor site, the Board office will send all examination materials to the
proctor site at that time. Board staff will mail to each examinee their examination-approval notice and 1.D. number. A
procedural information sheet will also be sent to you that includes complete instructions along with a list of acceptable
and unacceptable items. It is important that you read this prior to taking the exam. Consumption of food or beverages
varies depending on the proctor site. Food is generally not allowed at proctor sites; check when you schedule your
examination.

Proctored preparer exams based on 2010 tax law begin September 1, 2011, and consultant exams based on 2010 tax
law begin August 1, 2011. Preparer examinees who want to take the most recently updated examination must submit
applications to the Board office on or after September 1. Consultant examinees who want to take the most recently
updated examination must submit applications to the Board office on or after August 1.



Annual Board-administered examination:

Once a year, a large-group examination is offered on a Saturday at a community college or other site. There is no
proctor fee for this Board-administered examination, which will be based on 2010 tax law.

This year’s Board-administered examination will be held on:

Saturday, December 10, 2011
Chemeketa Community College, 4061 Winema Place NE, Building 50,
Salem, Oregon

The deadline for applications to take the Board-administered examination is 5 p.m., Nov. 10, 2011.

What to Bring to the Exam

The following items must be brought to the exam room in a transparent container or transparent bag or as loose items.

e For this exam only it is not necessary to bring your examination-approval notice. If you do bring it you will be
required to relinquish it to staff prior to entering the testing area.

e Government-issued picture identification such as a driver license, official state photo identification or a passport is
mandatory. No exceptions will be made. If you do not bring appropriate ID you will not be allowed to take the
exam.

e Two or three No.2 pencils and a pocket pencil sharpener (or mechanical pencils). You must use #2 pencils or
mechanical pencils on the answer sheets. See answer-sheet instructions and the example of a completed answer
sheet in this booklet.

e Simple-function calculators: battery or solar noiseless, non-printing, non-programmable calculators. Calculators
will be inspected by Board staff prior to entering the testing area.

e If you are taking the preparer examination, you may bring acceptable source documents. Acceptable source
documents must be official publications or copies downloaded from the official Web sites of the IRS and the
Oregon Department of Revenue. Consultant examinations are not open book.

e [f you have a medical or other condition requiring accommaodation, please make arrangements Board staff when
you schedule your examination. Diabetic supplies may be brought to the exam; however, such supplies must be
declared to and examined by Board staff at sign-in.

® Soft drinks and protein drinks are allowable at the Board-administered examination.

ltems Not Allowed in the Exam Room

e Cellular phones or other communication devices are not allowed.

e Backpacks, purses, non-transparent bags and containers are not allowed.

e Programmable calculators are not allowed.

e Source materials for consultant examinees are not allowed.

e Solid food is not allowed during the annual Board-administered examination.



Getting Your Exam Results

Proctor sites are required to return completed examinations to the Board office within five days, whereupon exams are
graded as soon as possible. Examinees receive written notification of their scores from the Board office through the
U.S. Postal Service no later than 30 days after taking the examination. Examination results are not given over the
phone or at the Board office.

Passing scores:

Preparer examinees must correctly answer 75 percent of the 200 questions and mini-problems.
Consultant examinees must correctly answer 75 percent of the 200 questions.
Enrolled agent examinees must correctly answer 75 percent of the 50 questions.

Examinees who receive passing scores have 60 days in which to apply for a license. If they do not do so, they must re-
test. Candidates who do not receive passing scores may sit for the next examination upon filing to re-take the
examination and submitting payment of fees to the Board office.

Please note: No review of the examination questions by any applicant will be granted (OAR 800-020-0020(7)).

If you do not pass the preparer or consultant examination in four tries, the Board strongly recommends that you enroll
in an 80-hour basic tax course or an examination-preparation course for consultants. A tax preparer must re-take
the basic course if, after three years from basic course completion, the applicant has not yet passed the preparer
examination (OAR 800-020-0020(9)).

Continuing Education

Tax preparers and tax consultants are required to complete 30 hours of continuing education related to tax law and tax
preparation per year. To renew their licenses each year, licensees must attest to having completed a minimum of 30
hours of acceptable continuing education during the 13 months prior to each license year.

The Board audits licensees on a random basis to verify compliance with continuing-education requirements (OAR
800-015-0015). Continuing education is waived for the first renewal of a tax preparer or tax consultant license.

Tax preparers and consultants who allow their licenses to lapse or be inactive for less than three years must attest to
30 hours of acceptable continuing education for each lapsed or inactive year to qualify for license renewal or
reactivation.

Example: License expiration date is Sept. 30, 2011, and the licensee is making application for renewal on or before
Sept. 30, 2013. The licensee must attest to 90 hours of continuing education (30 hours per year) to qualify for license
renewal or reactivation.

10



A license that has been placed in inactive or lapsed status, or combination thereof, for three (3) consecutive years or
more, shall not be reactivated to active status. If a tax preparer or consultant has allowed his or her license to lapse or
remain inactive, for three (3) consecutive years or more, he or she must make application for and successfully
complete the preparer examination with a score of 75 percent or higher.

Tax courses, seminars and Webinars acceptable for continuing education are offered by community colleges, industry
associations, company schools, and private firms in Oregon. Continuing-education credit will be accepted only if
sponsors and course material comply with OAR 800-015-0010, OAR 800-015-0020 and OAR 800-015-0030.

Acceptable continuing education is that which contributes directly to the expertise of the individual in the preparation
of income tax returns, and is presented by a sponsor who meets the requirements of all Rules.

Correspondence and self-study courses must be Board approved if not already approved by California Tax Education
Council (CTEC), Internal Revenue Service (IRS), National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA),
National Association of Tax Professionals (NATP), Quality Assurance Services (QAS) or courses by such other
sponsors as may be approved by the Board.
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BASIC COURSE SPONSORS: Sept. 1, 2011 - August 31, 2012

List subject to change.
Sponsors in gray pending.

Sponsor/Address Phone Fax E-mail Web site More info.
Annette Saarinen
AccountTax of Oregon, Inc. ** (503) 619-1040 (503) 619-1045 reception@accountaxoforegon | Accountaxoforegon.com Offering live
8050 SW Pfaffle St., Suite 110 .com course
Tigard, OR 97223
Peggy Hudson
Blue Mt. Comm. College * (541) 523-9127 (541) 523-9128 pegagyhudson@bluecc.edu www.bluecc.edu Offering live
3275 Baker Ext. 3200 course

Baker City, OR 97814

Scott Wallace

Blue Mt. Comm. College *
2411 NW Carden / PO Box 100
Pendleton, OR 97801

(541) 278-5736

(541) 278-5177

swallace@bluecc.edu

www.bluecc.edu

Offering live and
on-line courses

Nancy Jumper

Central Oregon Comm. Col. *
2600 NW College Way

Bend, OR 97701

(541) 383-7270

(541) 383-7503

class inquiries:

ceinfo@cocc.edu
personal: njumper@cocc.edu

http://noncredit.cocc.edu

Offering live
course

Malia Sathrum

Chemeketa Community Col. *
4000 Lancaster Drive NE
Salem OR 97309

(503) 399-5048

(503) 365-4785

socialscience

@chemeketa.edu

www.chemeketa.edu

Offering live and
on-line courses

James Stekelberg
Clackamas Comm. College *

(503) 594-3861

(503) 650-6659

jamess@clackamas.edu

www.clackamas.edu

On-line course

19600 Molalla Ave. or only
Oregon City, OR 97045 (503) 594-3071
Alan Twombly
H & R Block Income Tax (541) 997-7725 Offering live
School — Oregon Coast ** (541) 264-7270 (541) 997-7092 course
PO Box 331 (541) 888-2878 atwombly@hrblock.com
Florence, OR 97439
Randy Shimek Offering live
H & R Block Income (503) 279-1877 (503) 362-8560 rshimek@hrblock.com www.hrblock.com

EEEEEE— course
Tax Sch. **
1371 Lancaster Dr. NE.
Salem, OR 97301
Kristen VanKeulen Offering live
Heald College * (503) 505-5479 (503) 505-5558 kristine_vankeulen@heald.edu www.heald.edu course

6035 NE 78" Court
Portland, OR 97218

Sheila Clark

The Income Tax School **
10120 West Broad St., Ste. A
Glenn Allen, VA 23060

(800) 984-1040
or
(804) 204-1040

(804) 213-4248
or
(877) 787-1040

sclark@theincometaxschool.c

www.theincometaxschool

om
cmcabe@theincometaxschool.
com

.com

On-line courses
only

Mamie Carter, LTC

Jackson Hewitt Tax Service **
516 SE Chkalov Dr. No. 15
Vancouver, WA 98683

(503) 251-5442

(360) 750-5567

mcarter@jhtaxnw.com

www.jacksonhewitt.com

scross@jhtaxnw.com

Offering live and
on-line courses

Christina Phillips

Fastax, Inc. PFS Tax School ** | (503) 585-4663 (503) 362-5972 N/A N/A Offering live
Jackson Hewitt Tax Srv #0975 course
4676 Commercial St SE / PMB 373 Outside Salem:

Salem, OR 97302 1-866-634-1040

Katherine Sue Hewitt

Klamath Community College * | (541) 880-2261 (541) 885-7758 Hewitt@klamathcc.edu www.klamathcc.edu Offering live
7390 South Sixth Street or course

Klamath Falls, OR 97603

(541) 331-1047
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Kirkwood Donavin

Lane Community College *
4000 E. 30" Ave.

Eugene, OR 97405

(541) 485-8581

donavink@Ilanecc.edu

www.lanecc.edu

Offering live
course

Heather Smith

Liberty Tax Service **

1716 Corporate Landing Pkwy
Virginia Beach, VA 23454

(800) 790-3863
X 8053

(800) 880-6432

Heather.smith@libtax.com

www.libertytax.com

Offering live and
on-line courses

Barbara Bessey

Linn Benton Comm. College* (541) 917-4930 (541) 917-4831 Barbara.bessey@Ilinnbenton.e | www.linnbenton.edu/go/s Offering live
6500 Pacific Blvd., SW du bdc course
Albany, OR 97321
SanDee M. Tharp Offering live
Pacific Northwest Tax (503) 646-5600 (503) 350-0265 pnwtaxschool@aol.com www.pnwtaxschool.com on-line an d’
Service **

correspondence
13405 NW Cornell Road courses

Portland, OR 97229

Daphna Lauren Zago
Platinum Professional Services

(877) 315-1772

(877) 315-2725

admin@platinumprostudies.c

www.platinumprostudies.

Offering on-line

12340 Seal Beach Blvd., #271B om com courses
Seal Beach, CA 90740

Phillip Seder

Portland Community College — | (503) 977-8274 (503) 977-4959 phillip.seder@pcc.edu www.pcc.edu Offering live and

Sylvania Campus *
12000 SW 49" Ave.
Portland, OR 97219

on-line courses

Karen Helland

Southwestern Oregon (541) 888-7212 (541) 888-1590 khelland@socc.edu www.socc.edu Offering live
Community College * course
1988 Newmark

Coos Bay, OR 97420

Sammie Olson

Tillamook Bay Community (503) 842-8222 (503) 842-8334 olson@tillamookbay.cc www.TillamookBay.cc Offering live
College* course

4301 3" Street
Tillamook, OR 97141

* Denotes an accredited college/university or educational service district
** Denotes a private firm licensed as a vocational school by the Oregon

Department of Education

Check the following URL frequently for updates to the sponsor listing:
http://www.oregon.qov/OBTP/docs/Forms/GEN INFO.pdf
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Preparer Examination Index
Course Guide for Basic Course Instructors

Description/course topics

References used

Tax Practitioner Oregon Law

Oregon Administrative Rules
Oregon Revised Statutes

Federal Filing Requirements/Federal Filing Dates

Publication 17, Chapter 1

Federal Filing Status

Publication 17, Chapter 2

Personal and Dependent Exemptions

Publication 17, Chapter 3

Gross Income

Publication 17, Chapters: 6-9 & 12

Standard and Itemized Deductions
Medical, Taxes, Interest

Publication 17, Chapters: 21-25
Publication 970

Itemized Deductions
Contributions, Casualty, Car and Employee
Business Deductions, Work-related
Deductions, Miscellaneous Deductions

Publication 17, Chapters: 26-30

Adjustments to Income
IRA, Moving, Alimony
Miscellaneous Adjustments

Publication 17, Chapters:18-20
1040 Instructions
Publication 970

OREGON
Form 40
ERA Program (Elderly Rental Assistance)

Publication 17%
Oregon Instructions 40 & 40S

Other Income
Rental Income and Expense
Retirement Plans, Pensions, Annuities
Other Income

Publication 17, Chapters:10-11 & 13

Mid-term examination

Schedules C, F, and SE

Publication 225 and 334

Basis of Assets and Depreciation

Publication 17, Chapters: 10 & 14
Publication 225 and 334

Sale & Exchange of Capital Assets
Personal Residence, Bad Debts, Installment Sales

Publication 17, Chapters:15-17

Supplemental Gains and Losses

Publication 225 and 334

Form 4797 Form 4797 Instructions
OREGON Publication 17%2
Part Year and Non-Resident Oregon Instructions 40N and 40P

Credits

Publication 17, Chapters: 33-38
Publication 970

Other Taxes and Payments
Alternative Minimum Tax
Minor Children
Estimated Tax, Excess FICA

Publication 17, Chapters: 4-5, 11 and 31-32

Review

Final Examination
Review Final Examination
Interviewing Techniques

Amended Returns
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Preparer Examination Subject Outline
and approximate percentage of coverage

FEDERAL Education related
Self-employment tax
Penalty on early withdrawal

Itemized deductions -- 15%

How to file -- 13.5%
Filing status

Dependents
Personal exemptions
Filing requirements

Income -- 11.5%

Earned income
Tips

Interest
Dividends
Business, farm
Retirement, pensions
Rentals
Depreciation
Social Security
Investment
Other income

Assets -- 8.5%

Capital/ordinary

Basis

Sale of capital assets

Sale of business assets (Form
4797)

Installment sales (Form 6252)

Personal residence

Adjustments -- 5%

IRA, SEP, Keogh, simple
Alimony

Self-employed health insurance
Moving

Medical

Taxes

Interest

Contributions

Casualty

Continuing education
Employee business expense
Miscellaneous

Limitations

Credits -- 5%

Child care
Elderly, disabled
Earned income
Education

Child tax
Adoption

Other credits

Other Taxes -- 2.5%

Self employment
Alternative minimum
Averaging/lump sum
Tax computation

IRAs and other retirement plans

Other

Payments -- 2.5%

Estimated
Excess FICA
Other
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Preparer Examination Subject Outline, continued

OREGON

How to file -- 4%
Filing status
Filing requirements
Non resident status
Additions -- 3%
Interest
Taxes
Other
Subtractions -- 6%
Taxes
Interest
Military
Federal pensions
Social Security/ railroad retirement
Oregon refunds
American Indian
Lottery winnings
Domestic partner benefits

Deductions -- 1.5%

Standard
ltemized
Special medical

Credits -- 3%

Child care

Elderly or disabled
Retirement income
Political

Working family
Earned income
Exemptions
Long-term care
Residential energy
Other

Payments -- 1%

Estimates
Tax computation

Higher education expense License law, rules of conduct -- 6%
Other Mini-problems (Federal and Oregon) -- 12%

Approximately 64 percent is on federal law, 24 percent on state law and 12 percent is a combination of
Federal and Oregon mini-problems. There are 200 questions on the exam.



Sample Preparer Test with Frequently Missed Questions

Sample questions extracted from 2010-2011 exam based on 2009 tax law
Referenced to 2009 publications

These questions serve as examples only.

Answers, subject matter and references can be found on the attached pages

When a parent purchases a US Savings Bond and names his child as co-owner, he may choose between having himself
or his child report the interest.

A. True
B. False

John and Jane received the following interest and dividends. Prepare a Schedule B.

Interest:

$165 Willamette Savings (early withdrawal penalty $160)
$400 Series E bonds

$56 IRS interest on 1040X refund

$1,000 State of Oregon municipal bonds

Dividends:

$1,900 Credit union

$190 Hilton Hotel ordinary dividends and $10 capital gain distributions
$4,150 Union Oil

$ 26 Dividends on Veterans Insurance

$1,600 PGE ($400 was reinvested in common stock)

What is the amount on Line 6 of Schedule B?

A. $5,940
B. $5,966
C. $7,840
D. $7,866

The 2008 First Time Home Buyers Credit is up to $7500 and must be repaid over 15 years.

A. True
B. False

If a person's only income is self-employment, they are required to file a Schedule C.

A. True
B. False

Tommy Trucker, a long haul truck driver, incurred $5,000 in meal expenses. What is his allowable meal deduction on the
Form 2106 (Employee Business Expense):

A. $0

B. $2,500

C. $4,000

D. $5,000 17



Preparer Frequently Missed Questions Cont...

6.

10.

11.

12.

13.

Which dependent is required to file a federal return?

Sheila earned $800 in interest

Karen earned $200 in interest and $4900 in wages
Phil earned $350 in interest and $2000 in wages
Bob earned $5100 in wages

ooy

Uncle Bert, a union member, drove 5 miles a day to the union hall for 150 days to get his work assignments. He than
drove 800 miles total, for the year, from the union hall to the job sites. How many miles can qualify for a business
deduction?

A. 0

B. 750
C. 800
D. 1550

The federal excise tax on fuels is treated as a payment.

A. True
B. False

Commercial real estate held long term was sold at a gain. This gain is taxed at what maximum capital gain rate:

A. 5%

B. 15%
C. 25%
D. 28%

The expense paid to a housekeeper hired to care for children ages 8 and 11 and to do some of the housework must be
allocated for child care expenses.

A. True
B. False

Travel expense deductions for a trip that was primarily personal, but some business was conducted at the destination, may
be prorated as to time spent on business versus time spent on personal.

A. True
B. False

In 2006 taxpayer had a $6,700 federal tax liability. His Oregon federal tax subtraction for 2006 was limited to $5,000. This
year he amended his 2006 and received a $2,000 federal refund. How much of this refund must he include as an addition
on his 2009 Oregon return?

A. $0

B. $300
C. $1700
D. $2000

Mr. Snyder files married filing separate. He paid $2,800 in child care for his qualifying dependent. The decimal amount for
the federal child and dependent care credit, based on his taxable income is .06. Mr. Snyder has an Oregon credit of:

A. $0

B. $120
C. $168
D. $280
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Preparer Frequently Missed Questions Cont...

14. Mini Problem #5 — No Form Needed to Complete

15.

16.

17.

Amy (single) moved from Montana to Portland, Oregon to take a job in Vancouver, Washington. After becoming an
Oregon resident, Amy paid her moving expenses. Amy paid the following:

Storage for 30 days - $80

Rented moving truck ($55 each trip) - $110
Meals - $35

Gas, oil for personal vehicle $70

To disconnect utilities - $50

Amy may deduct moving expenses on her Oregon return in the amount of:

A. $0

B. $260
C. $310
D. $345

Mini Problem — Form 2441 and Form 1040 provided

Latifa has two dependent children under the age of five. She works as a cook in the commissary at Intel. Latifa's husband
died suddenly on January 13th of the current tax year. Intel provides Latifa with an annual child care allowance of $2,500
for each child. Her W-2 wages were $33,500. Latifa had no other income from any source and does not itemize
deductions.

What is Latifa's federal taxable income?

A. $9,500

B. $11,150
C. $13,150
D. $16,200

Mini Problem #4 — Form 40 provided

Bruce is filing as married, filing separate. He has the following entries on his federal return. He did not itemize this year or
last.

Taxable Railroad Retirement TIER | $8,000
Federal Tax Liability $3,000
Wages $12,000
Oregon Refund $300

He does not have any adjustments to income.

What is Bruce's federal adjusted gross income?

A. $12,000
B. $12,300
C. $20,000
D. $20,300

What is the total of Bruce's subtractions?

A. $3,000
B. $8,300
C. $10,925
D. $11,000
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STATE BOARD OF TAX PRACTITIONERS
PREPARER EXAMINATION

LIST OF ACCEPTABLE SOURCE DOCUMENTS ALLOWED DURING THE
TAX PREPARER OPEN-BOOK EXAMINATION

All questions in the Preparer Exam are derived from the following source documents

FEDERAL.:
Pub. 17
Pub. 225 - Farmer’s Tax Guide
Pub. 334 - Tax Guide for Small Business
Pub. 521 — Moving Expenses
Pub. 527 — Residential Rental Property
Pub. 850 — English-Foreign Language Glossary of Words and Phrases
Pub. 946 — How to Depreciate Property
Pub. 970 — Tax Benefits for Education
Federal Form 1040 Instructions (not forms booklets)

s Form 4797 Instructions — Sale of Business Property
Form 6252 Instructions — Installment Sales

OREGON:

Pub. 17-1/2 (Oregon)

Oregon Forms 40S & 40 With Instructions

Oregon Forms 40N & 40P With Instructions

Oregon Administrative Rules, Chapter 800: 800-010-0015 through 800-030-0050
Oregon Revised Statutes, Chapter 673: 673.605 through 673.990

Donates any new publications added for the 2010-2011 season

As extra reference material, Publication; 553 — Highlights of (current year) tax changes,
Publication; 596 — Earned Income Credit (EIC) & Publication; 587 — Business Use of Home may
be helpful to students, but are not considered by the Tax Board to be required.

Source documents in languages other than English are acceptable. Translating dictionaries are currently not allowed. All source
documents must be official publications or copies downloaded from the official websites of the IRS and/or the Department of Revenue

20



Answers, Subject Matter and References
Frequently Missed Questions

References can be found in 2009 tax law publications, booklets & instructions

1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

6.)

7)

8.)

9)

PREPARER

Correct Answer: False (B)
Subject Matter: Federal Income
Reference: Pub. 17

Correct Answer: $5,940A)
Subject Matter: Mini Problem
Reference: Pub. 17

Correct Answer: True (A)
Subject Matter: Federal Credits
Reference: Pub. 17

Correct Answer: False (B)
Subject Matter: Federal How to File
Reference: Pub. 17

Correct Answer: $4,000 (C)
Subject Matter: Federal ltemized Deductions
Reference: Pub. 17

Correct Answer: 50 (C)
Subject Matter: Federal How to File
Reference: Pub. 17

Correct Answer: 0 (A)
Subject Matter: Federal ltemized Deductions
Reference: Pub. 17

Correct Answer: True (A)
Subject Matter: Federal Payments
Reference: Pub. 17

Correct Answer: 25% (C)
Subject Matter: Federal Assets
Reference: Pub. 17

10.) Correct Answer: False (B)
Subject Matter: Federal Credits
Reference: Pub. 17

11.) Correct Answer: False (B)
Subject Matter: Federal ltemized Deductions
Reference: Pub 17

12.) Correct Answer: $300 (B)
Subject Matter: Oregon Additions
Reference: Pub 17 1/2

13.) Correct Answer: $0 (A)
Subject Matter: Oregon Credits
Reference: Pub. 17 1/2

14.) Correct Answer: $310 (C)
Subject Matter: Mini Problems
Reference: Pub 17 1/2, Pub 521

15.) Correct Answer: $9,500 (A)
Subject Matter: Mini Problems
Reference: Pub. Form 1040

16.) Correct Answer: $20,000 (C)
Subject Matter: Mini Problems
Reference: Oregon Instructions

17.) Correct Answer: $10,925 (C)
Subject Matter: Mini Problems
Reference: Oregon Instructions
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Consultant Examination Index and Study Guide

DESCRIPTION/STUDY TOPICS

REFERENCE USED

Filing Requirements

Filing Status

Dependents/Exemptions

Gross Income
W-2s, Interest, Dividends, Refunds, Alimony
Pensions, IRAs, Clergy, Unemployment,
Social Security, and Other Income

Excludable Income

Oregon

Code of Professional Conduct

Pub 17

Pub 525
Pub 575
Pub 590

Pub 17Y%
Oregon booklet
OARs Chapter 800

Standard Deduction Pub 17
Schedule A
Medical, Taxes, Interest, Investment Interest, Pub 502
Contributions, Casualty Losses, and Pub 936
Misc including Form 2106 Pub 463
Pub 970
Oregon Pub 17%
Basis of Assets Pub 17
Pub 551
Depreciation Pub 946
Sec 179, Bonus Depreciation, MACRS, Pub 225
Listed Property Pub 334
Oregon Pub 17%
1040 booklet
Schedule C Pub 334
Business vs. Hobby, and Home Office Pub 535
Pub 587
Schedule F Pub 225
Schedule SE Pub 463
Oregon Pub 17%
Schedule E Rentals Pub 17
Royalties and K-1's Pub 925
Passive Activities
NOLs Pub 536
Oregon Pub 17%

Additional study topics on back.
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DESCRIPTION/STUDY TOPICS

REFERENCE USED

Sales and Exchanges Pub 544

Sch D, Form 4797, Involuntary Conversions,

Repossessions, and Like-Kind Exchanges Pub 551
Installment Sales and Form 6252 Pub 537
Sale of Personal Residence Pub 523

Pub 17

Pub 225

Pub 334
Oregon Pub 17%
Adjustments to Income Pub 17
Education, Student Loan Interest, Tuition & Fees Pub 970
IRA Pub 590

Moving Expense

SE Tax

SE Health Insurance

SE Retirement Plans
Penalty for Early Withdrawal

1040 booklet

Alimony
Personal Property Rental Expenses
Oregon Pub 17%
Oregon booklets
AMT Pub 225
Tax Credits Pub 17
EIC, Child Care, Child Tax, Additional
Child Tax, Foreign Tax Cr, Education, Pub 970
Retirement Savings, Adoption, Gas Tax,
and Excess SS Tax and RRTI Tax
Oregon Pub 17%

Oregon booklets

Filing due dates Pub 17
Estimated taxes 1040 booklet
Penalty for IRAs and Form 5329 Pub 590
Advance EIC Payments
Pub 225
Pub 334
Oregon Pub 17%

Review for Final Exam

Oregon booklets

Final Exam and Review of Answers

This outline represents 10 three-hour class periods reviewing material that will be covered on a consultant
exam. Each class incorporates discussion of Oregon resident and non-resident information, as required.
Quizzes may be given at the beginning or end of class to reinforce material taught.
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Consultant Examination Subject Outline
and approximate percentage of coverage

Federal

How to file -- 5%
Filing status
Personal exemptions
Filing requirements

Dependents
Earned income -- 2.5%

Wages

Tips

Fringe benefits
Interest -- 2%
Taxable
Exempt
OID
Dividends -- 2%
Ordinary
Nontaxable
Capital gain
Business income, deductions -- 5.5%
Passive activities, rentals -- 3%
Farms -- 1.5%
Pensions and annuities -- 3%
Social Security -- 1%
Depreciation -- 4%
Sales of property -- 15%
Basis
Capital assets
Business property
Residence
Installment and repossessions
Depreciation recapture
Involuntary conversions
Nontaxable exchanges
Miscellaneous income -- 3%

Itemized deductions — 9.5%
Medical
Taxes
Interest
Contributions
Casualty losses
Miscellaneous deductions

a. Employee business
b. Production of income

c. Education

Credits -- 3.5%

Child care

Child tax

Earned income

Education

Mortgage interest

Other
Estimated payments -- 1%
Self-employment tax -- .5%
Alternative minimum tax -- 1.5%
Other taxes -- 2.5%

Lump sum distributions

Penalties

Tips

Household employment
Net operating losses,
at-risk amounts -- 1%
Amended returns -- 1.5%
Other areas -- 2.5%
Adjustments -- 4%

IRA, SEP, KEOGH

Alimony

Moving expenses

Other
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Consultant Examination Subject Outline, continued

OREGON

How to file -- 3%
Filing status
Requirements
Non-residents
Exemptions
Additions -- 3%
Municipal bonds
Other
Subtractions -- 4%
Taxes
Interest
Military pensions
Other pensions
Other subtractions
Deductions -- 2.5%
Standard deduction
Itemized deductions
Oregon medical
Credits -- 4%
Child care
Political
Exemption credits
Retirement
Working family
Other
Payments -- 1%
Estimated
Part year/non-resident -- 2%
License law -- 5.5%
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Sample Consultant Test with Frequently Missed Questions

Sample questions extracted from 2010-2011 exam based on 2009 tax law
Referenced to 2009 publications

These questions serve as examples only.

Answers, subject matter and references can be found on the attached pages

1. Which statement regarding Code Section 179 depreciation is true?

A. Maximum amount deductible is $24,000.

B. Amount disallowed due to taxable income limitations can be carried
forward.

C. Maximum deductible amount is reduced if property placed in service
during the tax year exceeds $250,000.

D. Amount expensed cannot exceed the taxable income derived only from

Schedule C or Schedule F.

2. Investment income does not include qualified dividends or net capital gain unless you choose to include them.
A. True
B. False

3. You can claim 75% of the use of a car or light truck as business use without any records if you used the vehicle during
most of the normal business day directly in connection with the business of farming.

A. True
B. False

4. Which income is taxable on your Federal income tax return?

State sickness or disability fund
Veteran's disability pay

Interest from New York City bonds
Gift

oo w>

5. Grandma contributed $1200 to her granddaughters Coverdell ESA, the parents contributed $700 and then the godmother
also contributed $2000 as a gift for the future. What is the additional tax on the excess contribution?

A. 114
B. 950
C. 190
D. 0
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Consultant Frequently Missed Questions Cont...

6. To qualify for Section 1231 gain treatment, a dairy cow must be held at least __ months.

A. 6

B. 12
C 18
D 24

7. Taxpayer Zeeke died during the current tax year. Zeeke had a capital loss carryover of $8000. The remaining loss
carryover will be claimed on his final return.

A. True
B. False

8. Supplemental security income (SSI) may be taxable if income exceeds dollar limits for base amounts.

A. True
B. False

9. Larry's only earned income is from his business, Larry's Plumbing. As a new business, his net income was only $3000
resulting in self-employment tax of $424. Larry paid $3800 for health insurance. He is allowed to claim a maximum self-
employed health insurance deduction in the amount of;

A. $2576
B. $2660
C. $2788
D. $3800

10. Armed forces reservists are able to deduct travel as an adjustment to income when:

attending guard meetings more than 50 miles away from home
attending guard meetings more than 75 miles away from home
attending guard meetings more than 100 miles away from home
driving to and from reserve meetings on a non-work day.

oowp

11. Which of the following is not an adjustment or a preference item for purposes of calculating Alternative Minimum Taxable
Income (AMTI)?

Property taxes

Home acquisition mortgage interest
Miscellaneous itemized deductions
State income tax

oCow>

12.  Mr. Cohen loaned $1,000 to his cousin two years ago to buy a personal automobile. He received a note bearing interest at
eight percent per annum. His cousin filed bankruptcy during the tax year without making any principal payments. How
should Mr. Cohen treat the loss, if any, on his return?

No loss allowed

$1,000 short-term capital loss
$1,000 long-term capital loss
$1,000 business bad debt

OCow»
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Consultant Frequently Missed Questions Cont...

13. Taxpayer failed to pay taxes on her timely filed return. What is the maximum failure-to-pay penalty on your federal return?

A. .5 percent on balance due

B. .5 percent per month on balance due
C. 25 percent on balance due

D 100 percent on balance due

14. Maynard sold his feed store on a 10-year contract. The total sale price of $159,000 was allocated to:
Fixtures $14,000
Goodwill $15,000
Inventory $30,000
Building $100,000

What, if any, portion of the sale can Maynard report using the installment method, if his adjusted basis was:

Fixtures $11,500

Goodwill -0-

Inventory $28,000

Building $70,000
A. Inventory, fixtures and building
B. Fixtures, goodwill and building
C. Entire sale
D. Fixtures and building

15. Mr. Jet acquired land adjacent to his business property for the purpose of expanding his customer parking area. Mr. Jet
paid a total of $70,000 for the property, which included a building valued at $15,000. To make the property usable as a
parking lot, the building was torn down at a cost of $8,000. He received payment of $3,000 for the salvageable material
from the demolished building. What is Mr. Jet's basis in the land?

A. $55,000
B. $60,000
C. $75,000
D. $78,000

16. Mr. Jones purchased a City of Seattle, Washington municipal bond with a face value of $10,000 for $10,250. The
purchase price included $250 of accrued interest. The total interest income reported for this bond was $500.
How much is taxable on his Oregon return?

A. -0-

B. $250
C. $500
D. $750.
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Consultant Frequently Missed Questions Cont...

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

Oregon residential energy credits are available for all except:

solar energy electrical system
energy efficient appliances
thermal pane windows

none of the above

ooy

A Taxpayer joined the military in Oregon. He does not have a personal residence in Oregon. His family travels with him.
During the tax year, he spent 60 days in Oregon on a temporary assignment. How much of his military pay is taxable to
Oregon?

All of the military pay, without exclusion.

None of the military pay.

All of the military pay, minus $6,000 active duty pay

and all active duty pay earned outside Oregon.

All of the military pay, minus a $6,000 active duty pay subtraction.

o ow»

Tony owns and operates a restaurant as a sole-proprietor. Tony takes a tip credit of $4500 on his federal return and
reduced his payroll tax expense by $4500. What is the effect on the Oregon return?

A. $4000 addition

B. $4500 subtraction
C. $4500 tax credit
D. No effect

Hannah, a farmer, must file her Oregon return and pay the entire balance due by March 1st if she does not make an
estimated payment by January 15th.

A. True
B. False

To ensure that proof of attainment of the required continuing education is available for audit or investigation by the Board,
licensees shall maintain a record of attendance for how many years following each continuing education cycle and renewal
of the tax practitioner license.

A. one year
B. two years
C. three years
D. five years

John and Mary Smith are both in military reserve units stationed in Oregon. John earned $6,000, of which $2,000 was
for active duty. Mary earned $4,000, of which $2,000 was for active duty. John and Mary filed a joint return. Their
exclusion for military pay is limited to:

A $4,000
B. $6,000
C. $10,000
D. $12,000
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STATE BOARD OF TAX PRACTITIONERS
CONSULTANT EXAMINATION

LIST OF SOURCE DOCUMENTS

All questions in the Consultant Exam are derived from the following source documents:

FEDERAL.:
Pub. 17
Pub. 225 — Farmer’'s Tax Guide
Pub. 334 — Small Business Guide
Pub. 463 — Travel, Entertainment, Gift, & Car Expenses
Pub. 502 — Medical & Dental Expenses
Pub. 519, Chapter 1 — U.S. Tax Guide for Aliens
Pub. 521 — Moving Expenses
Pub. 523 — Selling Your Home
Pub. 525 — Taxable and Nontaxable Income
Pub. 535 — Business Expenses
Pub. 536 — Net Operating Losses for Individuals, Estates and Trusts
Pub. 537 — Installment Sales
Pub. 544 — Sales & Other Dispositions of Assets
Pub. 550 — Investment Income & Expenses
Pub. 551 — Basis of Assets
Pub. 553 — Highlights of (current year) tax changes
Pub. 575 — Pension and Annuity Income
Pub. 587 — Business Use of Home
Pub. 590 - Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAS)
Pub. 596 — Earned Income Credit
Pub. 925 — Passive Activities
Pub. 936 — Home Mortgage Interest Deductions
Pub. 946 — Depreciation
Pub. 970 — Tax Benefits for Higher Education
Federal Form 1040 Instructions (not forms booklets)
Federal Form 6251 Instructions — Form AMT Instructions

OREGON:

Pub. 17-1/2 (Oregon)

Oregon Forms 40S & 40 With Instructions

Oregon Forms 40N & 40P With Instructions

Oregon Administrative Rules, Chapter 800: 800-010-0015 through 800-030-0050
Oregon Revised Statutes, Chapter 673: 673.605 through 673.990

< Donates any new publications added for the 2010-2011 season

Other publications and documents that you may find useful in assisting you in studying for the examination are: Form 2106, Form 4797
8853 Instructions.

, **Form 5695 and «Form
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Answers, Subject Matter and References
Frequently Missed Questions

References can be found in 2009 tax law publications, booklets & instructions

1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

6.)

7)

8)

9)

10.)

11)

CONSULTANT

Correct Answer: Amount disallowed... (B)
Subject Matter: Federal Depreciation
Reference: Pub. 946

Correct Answer: True (A)
Subject Matter: Federal Dividends
Reference: Pub. 550

Correct Answer: True (A)
Subject Matter: Federal Farms
Reference: Pub. 225

Correct Answer: State sickness... (A)
Subject Matter: Federal Misc. Income
Reference: Pub. 17, Pub. 525

Correct Answer: 114 (A)
Subject Matter: Federal Misc. Income
Reference: Pub. 970

Correct Answer: 24 (D)
Subject Matter: Federal Sales of Property
Reference: Pub. 225, Pub. 544

Correct Answer: False (B)
Subject Matter: Federal Sales of Property
Reference: Pub. 17

Correct Answer: False (B)
Subject Matter: Federal Social Security
Reference: Pub. 17

Correct Answer: $2788 (C)
Subject Matter: Federal Adjustments
Reference: Pub. 17

Correct Answer: Attending guard ... (C)
Subject Matter: Federal Adjustments
Reference: Pub. 17

Correct Answer: Home acquisition... (B)
Subject Matter: Federal AMT
Reference: 6251 Instr.

12.) Correct Answer: $1,000 short-term...(B)
Subject Matter: Federal Sales of Property

Reference: Pub 17

13.) Correct Answer: 25 percent...(C)

14)

15.)

16.)

17.)

18)

19)

20.)

21)

22)

Subject Matter: Federal Other Taxes
Reference: Pub. 17

Correct Answer: Fixtures, goodwill...(B)
Subject Matter: Federal Sale of Property
Reference: Pub 225, Pub. 537

Correct Answer: $75,000 (C)
Subject Matter: Federal Sale of Property
Reference: Pub. 551

Correct Answer: $250 (B)
Subject Matter: Oregon Additions
Reference: Pub. 17 1/2

Correct Answer: Thermal pane ... (C)
Subject Matter: Oregon Credits
Reference: Pub. 17 1/2

Correct Answer: All of the military ... (C)
Subject Matter: Oregon How to File
Reference: Pub. 17 1/2

Correct Answer: $4500 subtraction (B)
Subject Matter: Oregon Subtractions
Reference: Pub. 17 1/2

Correct Answer: False (B)
Subject Matter: Oregon Payments
Reference: Pub. 17 1/2

Correct Answer: Two years (B)
Subject Matter: Oregon License Law
Reference: OAR

Correct Answer: $10,000 (C)

Subject Matter: Oregon Subtractions
Reference: Pub. 17 1/2
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This reference guide will be provided with examination materials. You will
NOT be able to bring a copy of this guide into the examination.

Federal
Mileage rates:
2010 Ke_y tax amounts: Date Business | Charity | Moving | Medical
Ext_emptlon } $‘_?"65O . Jan-Dec 50 cents 14 cents | 16.5cents | 16.5 cents
Child tax credit - $1,000 per child
Excess FICA - $6,622
Standard Deduction
Filing Status MFJ or QW Single HOH MFS
Basic Deduction $11,400 $5,700 $8,400 $5,700
Blind * $1,100 $1,400 $1,400 $1,100
65 or over * $1,100 $1,400 $1,400 $1,100
Dependent Greater of $950 or earned income plus $300 but not to exceed $5,700

* Add to basic deduction amount. If married filing jointly and both taxpayers qualify, add $2,200 to the basic

deduction amount.

2010 Phase-Out Ranges:

Filing Status MFJ QW Single HOH MFS

Education Savings

Bond Interest $105,100- $105,100- $70,100 - $85,100 | $70,100 - $85,100 N/A

Exclusion $135,000 $135,000

Student Loan Interest

Deduction $120,000- $60,000-$75,000 $60,000-$75,000 $60,000-$75,000 N/A
$150,000

Tuition and Fees

Deduction...$4,000 $130,000 $65,000 $65,000 $65,000 N/A

Tuition and Fees

Deduction...$2,000** $160,000 $80,000 $80,000 $80,000 N/A

Coverdell Education

Savings Account ESA $190,000- $95,000-$110,000 | $95,000-$110,000 | $95,000-$110,000 | $95,000-$110,000
$220,000

Roth IRA $166,000- $166,000- $105,000- $105,000- $0-$10,000
$177,000 $177,000 $120,000 $120,000

Traditional IRA $89,000-$109,000 | $89,000-$109,000 $56,000-$66,000 $56,000-$66,000 $0-$10,000

Child Tax Credit $110,000- $75,000-$95,000 $75,000-$95,000 $75,000-$95,000 $55,000-$75,000
$130,000

Lifetime Learning $100,000- $50,000-$60,000 $50,000-$60,000 $50,000-$60,000 N/A

Credit $120,000

American Opportunity $160,000- $80,000-$90,000 $80,000-$90,000 $80,000-$90,000 N/A

Credit $180,000

Retirement Saver's $55,500 $27,750 $27,750 $41,625 $27,750

Contribution Credit

*Phase-out begins at this amount
**No deduction allowed if taxpayer's AGI exceeds this amount

Reference guide continued on next 2 pages
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Oregon

Oregon Basic Information 2010:
Exemption Credit - $177
Standard Deduction 2010:

Filing Status Standard + Age 65 or over, Blind (each)
Deduction

Married Filing Joint $3,900 $1,000

Qualifying Widow(er) $3,900 $1,000

Single $1,950 $1,200

Head of Household $3,140 $1,200

Married Filing Separately $1,950 $1,000

If Spouse Itemizes Deductions NONE

Dependent Children: Greater of $950 or the amount of earned income, plus
$300 (not to exceed $1,950)
* Blind dependent: Add $1,200

Oregon Filing Requirements:

Filing Status Age If gross Income is more than:
Single, can be claimed on another’s
return Any $950*
Single Under 65 $5,340
65 or Over $6,540
Married/RDP  joint return Both under 65 $10,700
One 65 or over $11,700
Both 65 or over $12,700
Married/RDP separate return Under 65 $5,340
65 or over $6,340
Head of Household Under 65 $6,680
65 or over $7,880
Qualifying Widow(er) Under 65 $7,440
65 or over $8,440

amount.

In addition, file a return if:

-- You are required to file a federal return
-- You had $1/more of OR inc. tax w/held from your wages.

*The larger of $950 or your earned income plus $300, up to your standard deduction

Child & Dependent Care Credit:

Federal Taxable Income Your decimal
Form 1040, line 43 OR amount is:
Form 1040A, line 27

over ----------- — But not over $5,000 .30

Over $5,000 — But not over $10,000 .15

Over $10,000 — But not over $15,000 .08

Over $15,000 — But not over $25,000 .06

Over $25,000 — But not over $35,000 .05

Over $35,000 — But not over $45,000 .04

Over $45,000 — But not over ---------- .00
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Oregon Exemption Credit Tables:

If your filing status is..
And Form 40, line 8 is less than

or equal to.....
Single $167,100
Married/RDP filing joint or qualifying $250,650
widow(er)
Married/RDP filing separately $125,300
Head of household $208,850

...multiply your total exemptions on line
6e by $177.
Enter the result on Form 40, line 33.
Do not use the exemption credit
worksheet

Working Family Child Care Credit Tables

If your filing status is....
And Form 40, line 8 is more than...

Single $249,600
Married/RDP filing joint or qualifying $333,150
widow(er)

Married/RDP filing separately $166,550
Head of household $291,350

...multiply your total exemptions on line

6e by $58.

Enter the result on Form 40, line 33.
Do not use the exemption credit
worksheet

TABLE 1, HOUSEHOLD SIZE = 1

TABLE 2, HOUSEHOLD SIZE = 2

Amount on Schedule WFC, line 15: Decimal, Amount on Schedule WFC, line 15: Decimal,
At least: but not more than: line 17 At least: but not more than: line 17
--------- - $21,650 .40 - $29,150 .40
21,651 - 22,750 .36 29,151 - 30,600 .36
22,751 - 23,850 .32 30,601 - 32,050 .32
23,851 - 24,900 .24 32,051 - 33,500 .24
24,901 - 26,000 .16 33,501 - 34,950 .16
26,001 - 27,100 .08 34,951 - 36,450 .08
27,101 — - .00 36,451 — e .00

TABLE 3, HOUSEHOLD SIZE = 3

TABLE 4, HOUSEHOLD SIZE = 4

Amount on Schedule WFC, line 15: Decimal, Amount on Schedule WFC, line 15: Decimal,
At least: but not more than: line 17 At least: but not more than: line 17
--------- - $36,600 .40 - $44,100 .40
36,601 - 38,450 .36 44,101 - 46,300 .36
38,451 - 40,300 .32 46,301 - 48,500 .32
40,301 - 42,100 .24 48,501 - 50,700 .24
42,101 - 43,950 .16 50,701 - 52,900 .16
43,951 - 45,800 .08 52,901 - 55,150 .08
45,801 — e .00 55,151 — e .00

TABLE 5, HOUSEHOLD SIZE =5

Amount on Schedule WFC, line 15: Decimal,
At least: but not more than: line 17
--------- - $51,600 .40
51,601 - 54,150 .36
54,151 - 56,750 .32
56,751 - 59,300 .24
59,301 - 61,900 .16
61,901 - 64,500 .08
64,501 — - .00

TABLE 7, HOUSEHOLD SIZE =7

Amount on Schedule WFC, line 15: Decimal,
At least: but not more than: line 17
--------- - $66,550 .40
66,551 - 69,850 .36
69,851 - 73,200 .32
73,201 - 76,500 .24
76,501 - 79,850 .16
79,851 - 83,200 .08
83,201 — e .00

TABLE 6, HOUSEHOLD SIZE = 6

Amount on Schedule WFC, line 15: Decimal,
At least: but not more than: line 17
--------- - $59,050 .40
59,051 - 62,000 .36
62,001 - 64,950 .32
64,951 - 67,900 .24
67,901 - 70,850 .16
70,851 - 73,850 .08
73,851 — e .00

TABLE 8, HOUSEHOLD SIZE = 8

Amount on Schedule WFC, line 15: Decimal,
At least: but not more than: line 17
--------- - $74,000 .40
74,001 - 77,700 .36
77,701 - 81,400 .32
81,401 - 85,100 .24
85,101 - 88,800 .16
88,801 - 92,550 .08
92,551 — e .00




The following proctor sites offer Tax Board examinations.

2011/2012 Examination Proctor Site Information

Please indicate only one

location on your exam application form (Be sure to indicate the site code in Section 2 of
your application). Location selection is FINAL at the time of application (Be sure to
add the proctor fee to your total). You must take the test within 60 days of the date on
your examination approval notice or your application expires and you must resubmit a new
application with all applicable examination fees. Please note: Once you receive your
examination approval notice from the Tax Board, you may contact the proctor site to
schedule an exam appointment. DO NOT contact the proctor site to schedule your
examination prior to receipt of your examination approval notice as they will not have an
examination for you to take. Proctor sites in gray are pending availability.

TOWN & COLLEGE SCHEDULE EXAM TYPE FEES
CODE

Albany Linn Benton Community College Every week: Mon,

6500 Pacific Blvd. SW Wed. & Fri. at
Site Code for | Albany, OR 97321 10:00a.m. All exams $20
Application: (541) 917-4781
LBCC Contact: Patty McMenamin OR By Appointment

*Please go to ONLY

www.linnbenton.edu/go/campus-

maps No more than 5

for directions & map to exam appointments per

location day.
Astoria Clatsop Community College

1653 Jerome Avenue 1.5 hrs - Consultant State $25
Site Code for | Astoria, OR 97103 By Appointment Only
Application: | (5(3) 338-2426 ONLY $40
CLAT Contact: Colleen Violette 5 hrs - Consultant or

e-mail: cviolette@clatsopcc.edu Preparer

*Please go to www.clatsopcc.edu for

directions & map to exam location
Bend Central OR Community College Mon-Thurs

2600 NW College Way 1.5 hrs - Consultant State $25
Site Code for | Bend, OR 97701 By Appointment Only
Application: | (541 383-7539 ONLY $40
cocc Contact Kellie Smith 5 hrs - Consultant or

Hours: Preparer

*Please go to Mon. — Thurs.

http://visitors.cocc.edu/visiting/direct | 8:30am.-4:30 p.m.

ions for directions & map to exam

location
Brookings | Southwestern Oregon Community

College By Appt. ONLY:
Site Code for | 420 Alder Street All exams $30
Application: | Brookings, OR 97415 Mon.
SOCC-B (541) 469-5017 9:00 am - 4:30 pm

Thurs & Fri

Contact: Mary Whitaker

9:00 am —4:30 pm



http://www.linnbenton.edu/go/campus-maps
http://www.linnbenton.edu/go/campus-maps
mailto:cviolette@clatsopcc.edu
http://www.clatsopcc.edu/
http://visitors.cocc.edu/visiting/directions
http://visitors.cocc.edu/visiting/directions

Coos Bay | Southwestern Oregon Community By Appt. ONLY:
College Dec 17 & Jan7
Site Code for | 1988 Newmark Saturday exam will | All exams $35
Application: | o5 Bay, OR 97420 be administered —
SOCC-CB | (541) 888-7405 call for details
Contact: Susan Anderson
Eugene Univ. of Oregon ~ Testing Center By appointment
1590 E 13" Avenue Room 270 ONLY 1.5 hrs - Consultant State $20
Site Code for | Eugene, Oregon 97403 Only
Application: | (541) 346-3230 Mon. - Fri: $35
UOFO Contact: David Espinoza 9:00 am —4:00 pm | 5 hrs - Consultant or
Lisa Montgomery Preparer
*Please go to http://testing.uoregon.edu
for directions & map to exam location
Grants Rogue Community College By appointment
Pass Testing Center ONLY 1.5 hrs - Consultant State $15
214 SW 4™ Street Mon. — Fri- Only
Site Code for | Grants Pass, Oregon 97526 8:30 am — 4:00 pm $40
Application: | (541) 956-7494 ~ ' 5 hrs - Consultant or
RCC Contact: Dana Wolff or Alina Subject to room Preparer
Brosio availability-closed
* Upon request - School will provide holidays
map & directions to exam site.
Klamath Klamath Community College By appointment
Falls Learning Resources Center ONLY 1.5 hrs - Consultant State $25
7390 S 6™ Street Only
Site Code for | Klamath Falls, OR 97603 Tues. - Thurs: $40
Application: | (541 880-2258 11am-7pm 5 hrs - Consultant or
KCC Contact: Jacquelyn Ray Fri:9am -4 pm Preparer
* Upon request - School will provide Sat: 9am -4 pm
map & directions to exam site.
La Grande | Eastern Oregon University By appointment
Testing Services IH 104 ONLY
Site Code for | One University Blvd All exams $40
Application: | | 5 Grande, OR 97850 Sat - 8a.m. to 2 p.m.
EOU (541) 962-3582 (Nov 5, Nov 19,
Contact: Helen Moore Dec 3, Jan 14,
* Upon request - School will provide Feb 4, Feb 11)
map & directions to exam site.
Medford Southern Oregon University By appointment
101 S. Bartlett St. ONLY 1.5 hrs - Consultant State $30
Site Code for | Medford, OR 97501 Only
/S*g’ﬂcat'oni (541) 552-8300 $40

Contact: Brigitte Nickel
* Upon request - School will provide
map & directions to exam site.

5 hrs - Consultant or
Preparer



http://testing.uoregon.edu/

Newport Hatfield Marine Science Center By appointment
Guin Library ONLY
Site Code for | 2030 S. Marine Science Drive All Exams $10
Application: | Newport, OR 97365 Every Week
HMSC-GL | (541) 867-0249 Monday - Friday
Contact: Janet Webster
* Upon request - School will provide Open from 8:30 to
map & directions to exam site. 4:30
Newport Oregon Coast Community Col By appointment
400 SE College Way ONLY
Site Code for | Newport, OR 97366 All exams $40
Application: | Contacts: (P=Primary/A=Alternate) | ** minimum of 3
occce Cheryl Burkhart (541) 867-8538 candidates to hold
e-mail: cburkhart@occc.cc.or.us exam
* Upon request - School will provide
map & directions to exam site.
Ontario Treasure Valley Community By appointment
College ONLY
Site Code for | Testing Center All exams $40
Application: | 650 College Blvd.
TvCC Ontario, OR 97914
(541) 881-5799
Contact: Debbie Jo Wilson
e-mail: dwilson@tvcc.cc
* Upon request - School will provide
map & directions to exam site.
Oregon Clackamas Community College Mon-Fri - By
City 19600 Molalla Ave. Appointment
Oregon City, OR 97045 ONLY All exams $40
Site Code for | (503)594-3283 or (503) 594-3193 Hours:
Application: | contact: Testing Center Mon. — Fri.
CLAC Wendy Imel & Maria Dickson 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
* Upon request - School will provide
map & directions to exam site.
Pendleton | Blue Mtn. Community College Tues. & Thurs.
Testing Center By Appointment
Site Code for | 2411 NW Carden ONLY All exams $25
Application: PO Box 100
BMCC Pendleton, OR 97801 Hours:
Phone: (541) 278-5931 Tues: 9am —5:30 pm
Contact: Wade Muller Thurs: 9am =6:30 pm
* Upon request - School will provide
map & directions to exam site.
Portland Heald College
Testing Center 4th Friday of each
Site Code for | 6035 NE 78" Court month All exams $40
Application: | portland, Oregon 97218
HEALD

Phone: (503) 505-5464 or

(503) 229-0492

Contact: Meredith Michand

* Upon request - School will provide
map & directions to exam site.

By Appointment
ONLY



mailto:cburkhart@occc.cc.or.us

Portland Portland Community College BY

Southeast Center APPOINTMENT
Site Code for | 2305 SE 82" Avenue ONLY 1.5 hrs - Consultant State | $25
Application: | MTH Room 107 Only
PCC-SE | portland, OR 97216 Mon-9to5 $40

(971) 722-6277 Tues —9to5 5 hrs - Consultant or

E-mail: testing.se@pcc.edu Wed-1109 Preparer

Contact: Jasmin Huskic Thurs—-9to5

Assistant: Ruslana Rozhanskaya Fri-9to2

* Upon request - School will provide Some Sat-9to 2

map & directions to exam site.
Roseburg | Umpqgua Community College By appointment

Counseling & Testing ONLY 1.5 hrs - Consultant State $15
Site Code for | 1140 College Rd. / P.O. Box 967 Only
Application: | Roseburg, OR 97470 2" Monday of each $25
ucc (541) 440-7659 month at 9:00 am. | 5 hrs - Consultant or

Contact: Nancy Hart Preparer

* Map & directions on-line at:

www.umpqua.edu/maps-a-directions
Salem Chemeketa Community College By individual

Testing Ctr — Bldg. 2, 1 fl. Rm. 110 | appointment
Site Code for | 4000 Lancaster Drive NE ONLY All exams $40
Application: | galem OR 97309 Weekly:
CHEM (503) 399-6556 / (503) 399-6552 Mon — 11 to 4

Contact: Linda Abundis Wed -9to8

* Map & directions on-line at: Thurs-9to 8

www.chemeketa.edu/aboutus/locations/s | Fri—-9 to 4

alem/direction.html
The Dalles | Columbia Gorge Community Col. | By appointment

Testing Center ONLY
Site Code for | 400 E. Scenic Drive
Application: | The Dalles, OR 97058 1 and 3" All exams $40
ceee (541) 506-6014 or (541) 506-6011 | Thursday of each

Contact: Jessica Griffin-Conner month

* Upon request - School will provide

map & directions to exam site.
Tillamook | Tillamook Bay Community Col. By appointment

Testing Center - 4301 3" Street ONLY
Site Code for | Tillamook, OR 97141 Dec 15, 2011
Application: | (503) 842-8222 x 1050 —Jan 19, 2012 All exams $25
TBCC

Contact: Linda Ashby Minimum of 5

* Upon request - School will provide candidates to hold

map & directions to exam site. exam
Wilsonville | Clackamas Community College

Wilsonville Training Center By Appointment
i‘ite ﬁcf’atiieol;?_f 29353 Town Center Loop East ONLY All exams $40
o cwre | Wilsonville, OR 97070

(503) 594-0950

Contact: Joyce Gabriel
Map & directions on-line at:
www.clackamas.edu/campus



mailto:testing.se@pcc.edu
http://www.umpqua.edu/maps-a-directions
http://www.chemeketa.edu/aboutus/locations/salem/direction.html
http://www.chemeketa.edu/aboutus/locations/salem/direction.html
http://www.clackamas.edu/campus
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