Secretary of State

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING*

A Statement of Need and Fiscal Impact accompanies this form

Bureau of Labor and Industries 839

Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number
Marcia Ohlemiller (971) 673-0784

Rules Coordinator Telephone

Bureau of Labor and Industries, 800 NE Oregon St., Ste. 1045, Portland, OR 97232

Address

RULE CAPTION

Clarifies how employer penalty is to be computed in Wage Security Fund recovery actions

Not more than 15 words that reasonablly identifies the subject matter of the agency's intended action.

RULEMAKING ACTION
Secure aporoval of rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit orior to filina
ADOPT:

AMEND:
OAR 839-001-0560

REPEAL:

RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

AMEND AND RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

Statuatory Authority:
ORS 651.060(4); ORS 652

Other Authority:

Statutes Implemented:
ORS 652.414

RULE SUMMARY

ORS 652.414, relating to the payment of wage claims from the Wage Security Fund, provides that the Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor
and Industries may initiate action to recover from employers or other persons liable for unpaid wages, amounts paid from the Wage Security
Fund. In addition, the commissioner is also entitled to recover a penalty of 25 percent of the amount of wages paid from the Wage Security
Fund or $200, whichever amount is greater. The proposed rule amendment clarifies that in cases where multiple employees of an employer
are paid from the Fund, the penalty of 25 percent amount of wages paid or $200, whichever is greater, is to be calculated based on the
amount paid to each employee from the Wage Security Fund, and not the total aggregated amount paid to the employees of the employer.

A public rulemaking hearing may be requested in writing by 10 or more people, or by an association with 10 or more members, within 21 days following the publication of the
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Oregon Bulletin or 28 days from the date Notice was sent to people on the agency mailing list, whichever is later. If sufficient hearing
requests are received, the notice of the date and time of the rulemaking hearing must be published in the Oregon Bulletin at least 14 days before the hearing.

The Agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals while reducing negative economic impact of the
rule on business.
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